Juniors Make Munster Final…

Aghada 4-14 Fethard 2-3

On Saturday last the Aghada Juniors made the journey into uncharted waters when they headed to Mallow to take on Fethard in the Munster Junior Club Semi Final.

The match started at a blistering pace with the first score of the match coming from the boot of Emma Farmer. This was quickly followed by one from Hannah Looney. Fethard settled into their stride and were on the scoreboard with a well taken point. Farmer and Looney kicked the next two scores but Fethard again responded with two of their own. Looney kicked Aghada’s next point before the first major arrived from the boot of Farmer after great interplay between Lauren Mc Allister and Aileen Mc Grath put her through. This was quickly cancelled out by Fethard when a long delivery deceived the Aghada keeper and ended up in the net. The seaside girls second goal came on twenty four minutes when Mc Grath found the back of the Fethard net. Fethard weren’t going away and came at Aghada again and scored a major of their own to leave the half time score Aghada 2-7 Fethard 2-3 and it was all to play for. There was two changes at halftime for the seaside girls with Eva Rose Boylan and Sorcha Phelan replacing Sinead O’Driscoll and Karen O’Connell.

The second half started a mirror copy of the first with Farmer kicking three points on the trot and all of a sudden the seaside girls had pushed seven points clear. Then Aghada’s third major arrived again from the boot of Farmer and this ended the game as a contest with the seaside girls dominating from there to the end. Aghada’s fourth goal arrived a minute later this time from the boot of Sarah Leahy after another great move between Farner and Mc Allister to set her up. The Aghada management sprung some changes with Lauren Linehan, Sophie Long and Kate Wall replacing Katie O’Farrell, Lauren Mc Allister and Amanda Bennett. Farmer was to get the seaside girls next three points and the last point of the game came from the boot of Looney to put the seaside girls on the road to a Munster Final against Finuge / St. Senan’s of Kerry to be played on Saturday 21st, time and venue TBC. When reports are wrote about matches it is always the forwards that seem to get all the praise but in fairness to our backs on Saturday they were immense holding the Fethard forwards scoreless in the second half of the match.

So on we go to a Munster Final the first in the clubs history and I would appeal to as many people as possible in the Aghada GAA family to come out and support these girls in that Final. It’s the least they deserve.

Panel: S. Walsh, K. O’Connell, B. Wall, C. Walsh, S. O’Driscoll, R. Phelan, K. O’Farrell, ER. Boylan, S. Leahy, L. Mc Allister, E. Farmer, H. Looney, A. Mc Grath, A. Bennett, C. Moran, Z. Cashman, L. Linehan, C. Tynan, S. Long, S. Phelan, M. Sweeney, C. Mc Grath, M. Rutledge, A. Quinn, C. Counihan, K. Wall, M. Stafford, A. O’Connor.

U-14’s Win East Cork Championship…

Aghada 2-10 Cobh 3-4

Aghada captured the East Cork U-14 B Championship title after a great battle with Cobh in Rostellan on Sunday evening last. This was a ding ding affair with both teams giving their all in pursuit of victory.

The seaside girls opened the scoring with a point from the boot of Hazel Whalley, this was quickly followed by one from Rachel Leahy. Cobh responded with one of their own before Ciara Ryan and Meave Mc Grath pushed the seaside girls three clear. With five minutes to go to the short whistle Cobh got in for a major after a well worked move. Marie Moran got the last score of the half to leave the score at half time Aghada 0-5 Cobh 1-1 with it all to play for.

Kaithlin Smith pushed the seaside girls two clear on the resumption but this was quickly cancelled out with Cobh responding with one of their own. Leahy was to get Aghada’s next score, before a major arrived for the seaside girls with Ryan rattling the back of the Cobh net. Cobh never panicked and kicked a point of their own before quickly followed by their second goal to put the minimum between the sides with ten minutes to go. Mc Grath eased the pressure for the seaside girls with two well taken points and one from the boot of Ryan. Cobh really upped the intensity in those last ten minutes and attacked the Aghada rearguard with everything they had but with Mia Murphy who was in outstanding form in goal pulling off some tremendous saves and the back line of Ella Lewis, Celcelia Mc Innis, Aishling Gilroy, Clare Boylan, Sally Mc Allister and Lily O’Neill they kept the Cobh attack at bay. Whalley rattled the back of the Cobh net with five to go but Cobh responded immediately and all of a sudden there was only a kick of a ball between the teams but in the end it was to be Aghada’s day and they ran out winners on a score line of Aghada 2-10 Cobh 3-4 to capture the East Cork U-14 B Title.

After the game the cup was presented to Celcelia Mc Innis captain of Aghada by chairman of the East Cork Board Tommy Goggin.

Panel: M. Murphy, E. Lewis, C. Mc Innis, A. Gilroy, L. O’Neill, S. Mc Allister, C. Boylan, M. Moran, R. Leahy, M. Mc Grath, K. Smith, C. Ryan, C. French, H. Whalley, K. Owers, R. Warne, R. O’Callaghan, K. Curtin, A. Quinn, A. Robinson, E. Burke, M. Smith.

U-12’s Draw With Lisgoold In East Cork Championship…

Aghada 2-7 Lisgoold 2-7

Our U-12’s travelled to Lisgoold on Friday evening last to take on the home team in the Semi Final of the East Cork Championship. This was a real ding dong affair with both teams producing some top class football. The game ended in a draw with the replay being played prior to this going to press. More on this next week.

Upcoming Fixtures…

Minor A County Championship v Kinsale Sunday 15th in Rostellan at 2pm.

Munster Junior Club Final v Finuge / St. Senan’s Saturday 21st, venue and time TBC.

Stayed tuned to Twitter @aghadalgfc and Facebook for all the up to date news in relation to Aghada Ladies Football. #AthFhadaAbú


This slideshow requires JavaScript.