East Cork Ladies’ Football Senior Championship Final
(Sponsored by AIB Bank Fermoy)

The First ever East Cork Ladies’ Football senior Championship final took place on Sunday last in Glenville GAA club.
Fermoy winners of the county Intermediate championship last year took on former All Ireland champions Inch Rovers.
Inch Rovers defeated Bride Rovers and Fermoy overcame Imokilly to reach the final and both sides gave it their all in a hard fought game. Inch opened the scoring almost from the throw in with a well taken point but Fermoy worked the ball down the field and pointed in the third minute Inch edged ahead before Sarah Harrington scored a lovely goal in the seventh minute to leave her side leading 1-02 to 0-01.The pace of the first half was hectic with both sides moving the ball well but some of the shooting left a lot to be desired with Inch having almost double the wides of Fermoy still the football was of high quality and there was little it at the break with Inch leading 1-04 to 0-03.
The opening minutes of the second period was fast and furious with Fermoy taking the game to their opposition and narrowing the gap but two goals in two minutes from the Inch Ladies put the tie beyond doubt. Fermoy to their great credit did not back off and took some lovely long range scores but the Inch Rovers backs made it very difficult for them and showed they will be very stiff opposition in the senior county championship which starts shortly. Final score Inch Rovers 3-09 Fermoy 1-08.

The cup was presented to Sarah Harrington by Máire Barry Branch manager of AIB Bank Fermoy sponsors
Thanks to Referee AJ Cronin and his team of Elaine Culloty and Clare Murphy

Well done to all concerned for bringing this day to fruition The officers of the Board and in particular Phillip Harrington who had a match programme available for all and thanks also to Tom, Billy, Paul and all who assisted in any way.
Thanks to Glenville GAA club for the use of their facilities and Watergrasshill Ladies Football club for hosting the game.
A particular mention to AIB Bank (Fermoy Branch for sponsoring a new perpetual cup for the top competition on the East Cork Ladies’ Football calendar

Fermoy Panel

Elisa De Luca 2. Andrea McGrath 3. Grainne Collins 4. Claire Hutchings 5. Mary O Sullivan 6. Aoife O Sullivan 7. Teresa Murphy (Captain) 8. Breda Feeney 9. Isobel Pyne 10. Michelle Parker 11. Ashling Hutchings 12. Abbie Scannell 13. Niamh O Donovan 14. Saoirse Moore 15. Máire Bailey 16. Julie Buckley 17. Aisling Daly 18. Shauna McGrath 19. Lisa Geary 20. Ellen Condon 21. Sinéad O Brien 22.Aibhin O Sullivan 23. Roisin Clancy 24. Niamh Daly.

Selectors : Tony Twomey, Denis Twomey, Declan Ennis.

Inch Rovers Panel

Rachel Fogarty 2. Aoife Walsh 3. Ann-Marie O’Connor 4. Ciara Walsh 5. Ciara Barry 6. Angela Walsh 7. Kate Harrington 8. Annie Walsh 9. Jessica O’Shea (Captain) 10. Danielle O’Shea 11. Joanne O’Keeffe 12. Ciara Daly 13. Rose Goggin 14. Sarah Harrington 15. Noelle O’Donovan 16. Niamh Roche 17. Gillian Cunningham 18 Shannon Cremin 19. Emma Cosgrove 20. Niamh O’Brien 21. Laura Lucey 22. Lana Merkisheva 23. Grace Healy 24. Laura Tracey 25. Finola Neville 26. Meg Ahern 27. Sandra Smiddy 28. Amy Roche.
Selectors Bryan McCarthy, Declan Fogarty, Thomas Harrington.