Kerry Ladies Get The Better of Cork In Macroom 2-14 to 2-09

All Ireland Ladies’ Football champions Cork lost out to current Munster champions Kerry in this years Munster championship game played at Macroom on Friday night. Well done to Macroom for top class organisation and a beautifully prepared surface for this game which was watched by a very large crowd.
Kerry were out of the dressing rooms well in advance of this tie and it was very evident that they were well up for the encounter as they went through an extensive warm up routine. Cork lined out with a strong team and had the better of a very lively opening. Kerry opted to play a blanket defence made life very difficult for the Cork forwards and were it not for two fortunate goals for the Lee side girls they could have been in deep trouble at the break as it was Cork led by two points going into the second period.
Kerry started the half with some good points and were on level terms quickly and then hit Cork with two good goals to leave the All Ireland champions in deep trouble. The Cork substitutions had an uphill battle to climb when they came on and failed to make any great impact on a Kerry team who looked fresh, energetic and extremely focussed and also had some great impact subs themselves.
It is highly probable that these two sides will meet again in the Munster Final early in July but this is dependant on the Kerry Waterford match so we will just have to wait and see.
Cork will have to work hard be prepared to adapt their style of play and get back their drive, will to win and intensity if they hope to retain their All Ireland Crown
Kerry, Dublin, Mayo, Monaghan and many more sides are waiting in the wings so it is all to play for As they say one swallow does not make a summer and I have no doubt that the Cork Ladies will leave no stone unturned as we head into season proper.

Cork Team M O’Brien, A Barrett, B Stack, E Meaney; R Phelan, D O’Reilly, A Hutchings, R Buckley, B Corkery, H Looney, C O’Sullivan, A Walsh, L Coppinger, Aine T O’Sullivan, O Finn.
Subs: S Kelly for A Barrett, R Ni Bhuacahlla for L Coppinger, B O’Sullivan for R Phelan & E Farmer for A O’Sullivan.