Cork U 14 Ladies Football team regained the Munster U 14 ladies Football “A” championship title on Saturday last when they defeated Kerry in the final.

This game was part of a triple header in Mallow which saw Limerick defeat Waterford in the “C” final and Tipperary defeat Clare by the narrowest margins to take the “B” title.

In very cold and windy conditions it was Cork who settled the better with a goal in the opening minutes and although playing with the cross wind could not pull away from the Kingdom in the first period who kept in touch with the aid of three goals turning at the break all square 2 03 to 3 00.

The Cork management introduced fresh subs at half time and early in the second half and this proved to be the difference as conditions were tough. Cork took some lovely scores in the second period and ran out deserving winners on a score line 3 10 to 4 03

East Cork girls on the panel: May Collins (Aghada), Ciara Morrison, Ava Barry, Abbie Hoare & Lily Murray (Bride Rovers), Jayne Devlin (Cobh), Nora Falvey (Cloyne), Lisa Hartnett (Fermoy), Caoimhe Richmond (Glanmire), Tara Hickey & Grace Rooney (Inch Rovers), Alex Cashman & Jane Savage (Youghal).

Management: Peter O Leary (Inch Rovers), Allie Murphy (Bride Rovers) & Louise Phelan (Youghal)